On June 30, 2015, Governor Rick Snyder signed HB 4052 into law which stops local governments from adopting, administering or enforcing future ordinances or policies that require local businesses to pay wages, fringe benefits or leave time that exceed State or Federal requirements. The bill will take effect on September 28, 2015. Currently, Michigan’s minimum wage is $8.15 per hour which will rise to $8.50 per hour on January 1, 2016. This law does not affect existing ordinances.
Governor Snyder indicated that the new law will bolster the State’s job creation climate by ensuring that regulations regarding employment matters are uniform across the State. Michigan’s law mandating “prevailing” wages on state-financed projects still remains intact.
Elizabeth Rae-O’Donnell is an attorney in our Livonia office where she concentrates her practice on municipal law, employment and labor law, and education law. She may be reached at (734) 261-2400 or firstname.lastname@example.org.